As far back as I can remember I’ve been painting, drawing or making something!  As and only child and the daughter of a father who ran a company that sold art supplies, you can imagine I had many!  Pens, pencils, rulers, glue…you name it…I had it and you can bet I used it!

In high school by the time I reached my senior year the majority of my classes where Independent Art.  Art was just about all I did and Independent Art class was one where you could do any kind of art that you liked.  Much credit goes to my art teacher, Mr. Schlegel who was an extremely supportive mentor.  The focus of my art in high school had much to do with painting furniture.  Telephones, tables, chairs, my bedroom walls…..I painted it all with acrylic paint (medium of choice back then) and covered it with a thick coat of polyurethane.

In ’97 I graduated with a degree in Art from Southern Oregon University.  In college I found that my favorite mediums were watercolor and charcoal.  I loved life drawing class where you spent 3 hours attempting to draw the nude figure in front of you and by the time I left class my hands would be so dry and black from the charcoal they wouldn’t come clean for days.  As a Freshman I took my first watercolor class and that was all I needed to know that this was the medium that would carry me through to graduation! The flow of the paint, water, gouache and ink on the paper…it mesmerized me and turned into a completely emotional experience every time I painted.  I found watercolor amazing by the way you can use it straight out of the tube or mix it with water, with wet brushes and dry brushes, on wet paper or dry paper and oh my goodness…the paper! Hot Press,  Cold Press, Rough….90lb, 140 lb, 300 lb……OH THE OPTIONS and all with such different results!

I started on 18 x 24 sheets of 140 lb cold press and then moved onto 24 x 36. By the time I graduated I was working from rolls of 6 foot watercolor paper that I would cut into 10 foot lengths.  These rolls would arrive in the mail from Dick Blick’s and I’d roll them out on my apartment floor until they stopped curling at the corners and then, the fun began!  Water, paint, gouache, ink, salt, alcohol….I’d take paint direct from the tube and squish it around with a fork on a dry spot of paper and then pull the paint into a wet spot of paper and watch what would happen. I would pour cups of water on the paint and lift the paper and watch all the colors blend and flow.  Then I would have to let the entire thing rest over night and see what happened when it dried because it is NEVER the same!  Obviously  I paint in the abstract, though it never fails that someone sees something in one of these old paintings – a face, an eye, a dragon, a tree……

My love for watercolor painting has never died!  There have been times since school where I have forgotten about it and put my skills on the shelf for a while but there is always a love for it there.  Other watercolor artists resonate with me and I’m drawn to them at art shows and events.

Here’s an example of one of my many works from the 90’s…

watercolor6

