branch watercolor Autumn always seems to find me thinking of watercolor painting.    Perhaps it’s all the rain that we get here in the Pacific Northwest?  Maybe it’s the changing leaves falling from the trees with their various colors all seeming to melt together in a warm red, orange, brown and yellow conglomeration.

Today I’m drawn back to paintings of my recent past for inspiration.  My style and theme seems to change often, though there is always that underlying abstract “oozingness” (I realize that’s not a word, but how better do I describe it?) where the paint and water come together to form soft globule-like areas of contrast.

The picture above was an autumn inspiration from 2007.  A roughly 11×14 cold press piece that incorporates watercolor and gouache.  In this particular piece I tore away layers of the paper in small areas in an effort to provide more texture.  This is one of my all time favorite pieces, which remains nameless other than a brief passing thought of “Moonlight on Dead Branch”.

My cousin and her husband recently chose to receive this as my wedding gift to them.  I miss this one, but know that it is in good hands.

red grey watercolor This red and gray glory now lives in my mother’s bathroom.  The 1950’s gray and wine colored tile that covers the floor, counter top and majority of the walls provides the perfect environment in which this beauty resides.

This particular piece was painted in the late spring of 2007 and if I remember correctly it was one of the first warm, dry and sunny weekends we’d had that year.  I set up shop on the patio table, soaking up the sun that wasn’t quite warm enough yet to evaporate the water and dry my paint too fast.

Where the inspiration for this one came, I really don’t know.  I feel it has a bit of an Asian feel with the combination of softness in the background yet hard lines in the foreground. An 8×10 cold press piece, it is an untitled watercolor all the way, no mixed media here.

DSCN4272 Ah, Tattoo!  This mixed media doozy reminded me of fresh ink on a new tattoo, hence the title, Tattoo.  Those who know me are familiar with the fact that I love tattoos.   I get much of my inspiration for drawing from tattoo art and design, but this was my first watercolor piece.  She’s only a 5×7 but the depth of color and vividness worked quite well on this scale.  I think something bigger would have been overwhelming.

A combination of watercolor paint, gouache, ink, acrylic, glitter, alcohol and salt and very little water gives the result you see above.  For most of the foreground I used nearly pure pigment, so the paint was the consistency of a fine balsamic vinegar. The background was a simple wash and the hard black lines are pure black gouache.

This painting sold last year at Vestiges (now Found on Fremont).  Just looking at the photo of this painting makes me want to head to my tattoo artist for some more ink!

purple pink watercolor Pink hasn’t been in my vocabulary since I was a kid but somehow it took over here!  Pink and purple where my favorite colors prior to the age of thirteen.  Everything suddenly went to black in my teens and black is still my color (or lack there of) of choice.  Somewhere deep down the kid in me must have felt a need to express herself and as a result this 5×7 linear, wobbly, sectional piece emerged.

This painting is again a mix of watercolor, gouache, ink, and glitter.  A lot of water and many layers of paint were used to create the depth that is a bit hard to see in the photo, but believe me it was there.   Tiny little baron trees, branches and abstract eyeballs find themselves hidden along the hills within the piece.

Untitled, this painting was auctioned at an event benefiting a woman with cancer.

