After several years of oohing and ahhing at the fantastic things chefs where doing with fondant covered cakes, I finally took the plunge!  Here it is, basically step by step, my first fondant endeavor…………

First the cake….a 3″ and a 5″ round –  both 3″ high.  This is red velvet, one of my all time favorites!

The smaller round was cut to fit onto the larger round, forming the lady bugs head.

Now for the dirty ice, also known as crumb coat.  Sloppy vanilla butter cream piped on the cake. This layer serves to not only pad the fondant, but to keep crumbs of cake from interfering with decorating.

It’s important to smooth the icing as evenly as possible. A smooth layer of buttercream “padding” serves to allow the fondant to drape easily and evenly over the cake.

I began with basic white fondant.  Since this was my first try with the stuff, I decided to color it myself.  Pre colored fondant can be purchased and would have been fine, but I wanted to give it a try.  It was like playing clay and other than the fact that my nail beds are permanently stained from the paste icing color, it was pretty simple.  The picture above is the first coat of fondant for the lady bug’s head – colored black.

And for mixing the color into the fondant, as referenced above.  Fun messy, gooey fun!

The layers of fondant are done and ready for decorating.  This was actually easier than I thought it would be.  The fondant rolls our easily and other than the fact that it may have been a tiny bit hot in my kitchen for it, it came out pretty damn even for a first try.

 

All the details in the cake are fondant decorations.  Cut with cookie cutters and hand shaped they where simple.  Royal Icing provides the “glue” to make them stay.  The antennae are dusted with silver Luster Dust (edible metallic magic).

And we’re complete!  Lady Bug done!

