Wasn’t it a Ben Franklin that said ” nothing can be said to be certain except death and taxes.”  This is true, but when you live in Portland, Oregon one other thing is certain – RAIN!  Yes it’s a spectacularly dark and wet winter here in the Pacific NW.  My life has become somewhat of a funkification, thanks to a tiny bit of Seasonal Affective Disorder that I have  and it is really starting to get to me at this point.  There are a good 4-5 more months of this wet weather ahead but yesterday we got lucky!  A sunny, 60 degree day in January, incredible! I rushed out to get some much needed light and warmth, the sky was actually blue! It made my week but it also gave me the first opportunity I’ve had since I purchased my camera to really get outside with it!

So, get out I did.  Hubby and I went for a nice walk late in the afternoon – camera in tow.  But here is the quandary, what does one photograph when limited to a neighborhood of homes and everything has been dormant and soaked for the past 3 months?  At first it was a struggle to find gems of interest but I do believe that I found a few.

Moss: mmmm, yes…I’m surprised us long term Oregonians aren’t growing it as hair because it is EVERYWHERE! It’s everywhere and right now it is bright green!

New growth:  It amazes me how quickly new growth appears after the first of the year.  Leaves are peaking out of the hydrangeas.  Buds and young branches are forming on the trees. Daffodils and tulips are just starting to show that they are back in town.  It’s a refreshing break from the winter dreariness.

 

 

And the Photoshop Elements accomplishment of the evening…I figured out the watermark!

